I am stunned…

Ann Nixon Cooper, daughter of a slave, a hot 106 years old!
Ann Nixon Cooper, daughter of a slave, a hot 106 years old!

I think I am also tired.  With opposing day light savings now, New York is 3 hours earlier. I was up with my 12 year old and husband until 4:00 this morning watching the returns.  I had a 6:45 am  wake up to get the politically un-insane (too young) to school.  I have tried to go back to sleep but I cant, I just might be too excited, but in a zombie sleep-deprived way.

There is so much to say, about how the night unfolded, the stupid news coverage (we hooked up our sling box), Obama’s acceptance speech, and the crowds all over the country, erupting when he won.  It was reminiscent of a Argentine national team win here! But its all been said. 

I cant stop thinking about older African Americans, who remember a time when they might not have been able to vote, they lived segregated lives and had to endure a racist government….it must just be overwhelming. 

I was so focused on getting Bush out, and someone else in that would undo this mess. I don’t think I ever saw Obama’s skin color, or how we as a nation, voting for him, wanting him to be our President, would forever change our culture.  My 12 year old, even now doesn’t experience race the way I did/do.  He just doesn’t see the limitations or feel fear about other people’s race.  But imagine the babies born tomorrow…. The world has changed.

Yeah!

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

1 Response

  1. I can’t believe we have a President with a name like Barack Obama, not that he’s Black. It just doesn’t roll off the tongue like the names that usually come after the word president. Congats America for doing the right thing.

Leave a comment