Reading Crap

readingcrap

One of my New Year’s resolutions, or whatever you call it, is to stop reading a book the moment it is no longer enjoyable.  Put it down and never pick it up again.  Totally abandoned it and put it in the heap pile.  I NEVER have consciously quit a book.  I have misplaced or lost book mid-read and depending on how vested I am, I might or might not seek out a replacement copy. But normally for no good reason, I have slogged pleasurelessly through numerous books.  As of this month I gave the heave ho to an audiobook and put a book on stand by for another time. Yay me!  The audio book I chucked because despite my best instincts not too, I listened to a friend that insisted I listen to Elizabeth Gilbert (in a voice I have to say irritates me, both figuratively and literally) read her latest, Big Magic.  Could not do it.  After about 25 minutes of an hour drive I switched it to sports radio.  Lila, a book by Marilynne  Robinson, is the third part of a trilogy (Gilead and Home are the other books) that I couldn’t wait to get my hands on.  I dont know if it was the depressing weather to go with the depressing but forward moving narrative or the lack of a big chunk of time to make a dent into the story, but whatever it was,  I re-read the first 50 pages multiple times. Lila is waiting to be read, but it will be for a different place and time.

I have also promised myself in 2016 to read more.  Not just read on vacation but make it a daily or almost daily habit.  So far, so good and I really feel that reading regularly has added some serious quality to my day.  It might be just for 20 minutes here or there, but its reading and its as satisfying as a nap or a sweet treat.  My goal is to read 3-4 books a month.  I did manage 3 in January and so far 3 more in February so bully for me!

 

What I read so far in 2016:

My name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout

Nora Webster by Colm Toibin

The Vacationeers by Emma Straub

A Window Opens by Elizabeth Egan

Thirteen Ways of Looking by Colum McCann

Brooklyn by Colm Toibin

What I am reading right now:

The Song of Hartgrove Hall by Nastasha Solomons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

Leave a Reply

