Overheard at the Ice Rink

 

mom daughter ice skating

“Come her right now!”  A petite and pretty 13 year girl sheepishly skates to the opening between the boards where her crazy ass mother is standing.

“You are just disgusting!”

“What?” as the skater coughs, drinks some much needed water and wipes her nose on the shoulder of her Lululemon jacket.

“You heard me, that layback was disgusting and your snotty nose is disgusting”

“I’ll get some kleenex then, ” the girls says with her head down looking exhausted as she begins to walk off the ice.

Her mother with the over processed hair and face, blocks her at the opening.  “Oh, no you don’t.  Get back out there and and work on that crappy spin of yours.  I didn’t drive 30 miles for ice so you could screw around”

“Is it really 30 miles? I thought-”

“Just shut up and skate and try not being so disgusting and no crying.   Really,  I didn’t drive 30 miles so I could watch you cry, and your nose will only get more disgusting.” Her phone vibrates.  “I’m taking this call and you have 20 more minutes of ice time, I will be watching… You get off the ice when the Zamboni is about to run you over.”

 

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

1 Response

Leave a Reply

