Craziness

drawing from Birth Control Review (December, 1917)

I had prepared  the below post yesterday about the Blunt Amendment. Fortunately, the Blunt Amendment failed, barely 48-51. Then things just got weirder.  I have updated the original post at the end.

What the hell is going here?  There are some pretty crucial pieces of legislature that Congress should be considering to keep our country on the road that we seem to be on (like the Transportation Bill which has been languishing on Boner’s desk, I know its really Boehner;).   But apparently to a bunch of middle aged men it is of the upmost importance that we protect the freedom of religion from women demanding and the government mandating that medical benefits include women’s reproductive healthcare. Women dont generally want to be pregnant for 35 years, for some women each pregnancy is an life threatening condition, and for others circumstances make having a child difficult.  You think that family planning was a luxury or some new fangled unproved science.  I am not sure what these middle aged men’s M.O. is.  I dont think it is religious or moral.  I think they just like the power to make these decisions for women.

The Republicans dont see the irony, it is not in their DNA.  So they just keep trying to get the government to impose their morals on us while their biggest beef is big government.  Cant have it both ways.

A kind of random aside:  Did you know in 1966-65 just prior to the Vatican 2 convention,  John XXIII had had a committee made of lay and religious members, included married couples study contraception and its impact on the church community,  The majority report sided with the idea that it was in the for the common good that some forms of birth control be available including oral contraceptions.  Then John XXIII died and Paul VI came in and ignored the majority report.   One of my pet peeves about the Catholic Church is its blanket opposition to all forms of contraception  How do they defend this position given the abject poverty  found in the very communities where the church has influence. Dont even get me started on their objection to using condoms preventively for AIDS.

So the intellectual and philosophical leader of the GOP, Rush Limbaugh, for the last two days has said things that make me believe I have travelled in a time machine back to the 1920’s.   First yesterday he made comments regarding a college student that was scheduled to talk a congressional committee (then denied)  about how critical it was for people like her to have affordable contraception available to them.  He called her a “slut” and “prostitute” because in his small sick little mind, government or an insurance company  was paying for the contraception, she was being paid to have sex.  Then today,  probably since no one told him he was insane and a misogynistic bastard, he was empowered to say this:

“So Miss Fluke, and the rest of you Feminazis, here’s the deal. If we are going to pay for your contraceptives … We want something for it. We want you to post the videos online so we can all watch.”

And as of this moment…crickets from the right.  Jeezz, what does this guy have on the GOP? Who will be the first to condemn him..not holding my breath.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

5 Responses

  1. Big Neighbor

    I agree with 99% of your comments even though I lean to the right. I think that nobody I know considers Rush the voice of the Right. Same for recently deceased Andrew Breitbart, who incidentally was the subject of a Jan Wenner headline “Death of a Douche.”. Now I agree with the assessment, but this is a guy with 4 kids who don’t need to read that in the national press any more than Miss Fluke deserved Rush’s bullshit. Transportation Bill, from what I’ve seen, has only about 2/3 good, which is not gonna cut it. Crickets can now shut up.

    1. Big Neighbor

      1/2 pork and crap, hmm sounds like Head Cheese. You and I can now call all standard legislation “Head Cheese”. Hardy har har. I am sick of Rush, Wenner, Republicans, Democrats and most of it. I wish we had a viable 3rd party (not Tea). Maybe I will research Whigs, I can’t remember their deal.

    1. Big Neighbor

      They deliver!!! Martin Short plays a mean banjo. I am so friggin fashionable with my politics, I hope I don’t die in a Wetland meeting though.

Leave a Reply

