Reading Frenzy

Written 22 Februray 2012

I have read 6 books in five days.  Truth be told I had read ¾ of The Historian before I landed in Junin.

Here is what I read:

Gilead  By Marilynne Robinson.  She wrote also Housekeeping.  A mesmerizing writer of faith and theology all within a compelling story.  Doesn’t sound great I  know, but believe me she can spin a tale, and in this book she writes in the person of a 77 year old man.  That’s always so amazing to me when a writer writes in a voice so clearly and it cant possibly relate to their own self.

Parrot and Oliver in America   Excellent writing by Peter Carey (The Kelly Gang, Oscar and Lucinda).  A funny although at times desperate historical epic.  A bit like Tom Jones (Henry Fielding novel not pop singer) or even a funny Dickens story. Vivid characters and detailed and well drawn look at NYC in early 1800’s.

The year we left home  by Jean Thompson.  Short story collection within a narrative.  Well written but yet another depressing look at getting old and parents dying on you.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. A good book for a long vacation.  It’s worth the investment of 700 pages but I am definitely over the vampire genre.

A Visit from the the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan.  Another set of short stories that are connected.  I am not sure how satisfying I find this genre although this was well written. I understand why as a writer you would want to write this way.  Lots of meat, not so much filler.  But as a reader I sometimes want the narrative to flicker through my brain like a movie.  Maybe I am lazy but there are times I am not up for a puzzle.

Atlas of Love  by Laurie Frankel.  Mediocre cliché chick book.  I am not sure what attracted me to it.  I think the title.

Here is where I read:

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

4 Responses

  1. Have you ever read anything by Augusten Burroughs? He wrote Running with Scissors (but I love his short stories, like Dry, more). Sarcastic, mordant wit that deals with his experience as an alcoholic gay man in NYC. Somewhat in the same genre as David Sedaris (another favorite).

  2. craig duncan

    Over the vampire genre? I’m coming in completely from the dark here, but does this mean you’ve been a fan of and read a lot of Chelsea Quinn Yarbro’s Saint Germain series? I’m in the midst of quite a reading boom myself… reading her “An Embarrassment of Riches” at the same time as “The Soul of an Angel” and “Music When Sweet Voices Die.” This latter a Oglivie, Tallent & Moon mystery (these are all by Yabro). I couldn’t imagine myself reading anything about vampires until i stumbled across the Count St. Germain series. After just about exhausting this series, i was led to Suzie McKee Charnas because she and Yarbro cowrote a short story together. Not bad, but not on the same level and that was enough (although i’m interested in her SF series involving the Fems… i think i read the first a long time ago). Anyway… to good books and awesome writers!
    Favorite short story ever: Rainbird by R.A. Lafferty from his “Strange Doings” collection.

Leave a Reply

