Going Back

I just landed from being 12 days in Argentina.  I will post date some posts about being there (and even some older ones.)  And I am going to commit to writing regularly.  Really.  I mean it this time.

We have been back living in the States for about 5 months.  Everyone is good.  I am OK.  I guess since the kids acclimated with little or no fuss, I have had the luxury of thinking about myself. I am happy being back?

I am not sure.  I don’t know how to articulate how I feel.  I don’t know if what is going on is just feeling unsettled or being in transition.  I don’t know if it is me wishing we hadn’t left Argentina or wishing we hadn’t returned here.

But now that we have been back to Argentina, I wouldn’t want to live there again.  Its not the same as being glad we left but its makes me feel more married to the idea that leaving was the right thing to do.  Returning to Argentina was great.  We saw friends in BA and spent time in my favorite place in the world, Patagonia.  So while it was a family vacation it served as closure too.

Our life of living in Argentina is over.  It makes me sad.  Maybe that’s the not so complicated feeling I have been having. Doesn’t seem too complicated to fix.  Need to make a new life and keep happy memories of the old.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

7 Responses

  1. Jennifer

    As you well know, Argentina can get under your skin and after all why wouldn’t it? It’s a great place to live especially as an expat! Know you are not alone in the way you feel. It’s been almost 2 years for me and if I dwell on my life in Argentina i can get awfully sad. We had great friends, great experiences and a fab life. One of the great things though is to know you can go back to visit and also make efforts to connect with those closest to you in the most unimaginable places. I love it when that happens and I look forward to it. I suppose the other hard thing about moving back is figuring out a life for you. At least that is how I feel. Anyways, if you work that one out give me a call…I’ll be in the bar until then 😉

  2. Joanne Renard

    Well, in 1940 Thomas Wolfe said “you can’t go home again” and in 1968 Tom Wolfe said “you can’t get off the bus”. It’s confusing, no?

  3. Hi, Elizabeth,
    I realize that I don’t know you, but I felt something of a “kinship” with you when I discovered your blog, and read the reasons for your self-imposed exile to Argentina. The four years of GWB scared the hell out of me, and seeing the direction this country is headed continues to terrify me. My husband and I are in our late 40s, no kids, and seriously considering a move to Someplace Else. We both love Argentina and Chile (esp. Patagonia) so that is an option….all I know is that I feel restless and uneasy….some days it feels like my wish to abide by the principles of a Democratic nation make me a minority. Not sure if this makes sense….I just have this inescapable feeling that it’s time to pack up. Would love to hear your thoughts on ex-pat life if you’re so inclined. Thanks, Tamara the Crazy Bunny Lady 🙂

  4. Hola, I like your blog, been reading a while. Love those altocumulus lenticularis [clouds] in the above photo (sorry, geek moment). Sounds like you are going through a little grief, which is normal. Life in Argentina is good, but life in the States is good too, both in different ways. Praying you find a good new life for you and your family. ~Chris

Leave a Reply

