Theatre Extravaganza

source:USAToday

One of the ways GM and I escape our children for an occasional 24 hours is to go into the city to catch a play.  Not a musical.  GM is not a musical kind of guy.  At all.  Thats fine with me.  I have been to a few of those and inevitably  their required sentimentality makes me a bit squirmish. Dont get me wrong, if I could sing and dance on Broadway it would be awesome.  I am just not the target audience for that vehicle.  I am too much of a cynic.

A good drama or satire on the other hand GM and I can enjoy together.  Especially  Shakespeare.  I bought tickets for GM’s birthday to see King Lear.  It happened to land on the same weekend as Georgie’s children’s theatre production of Mulan was debuting and closing .  It was going to be a cultured weekend of Sam Waterstone as King Lear and Georgie O’Connell as a hun.  King Lear was intense, desperate exhausting and 3 1/2 hours long. We thoroughly enjoyed it (despite horrible reviews we both thought it was excellent).   Mulan, while mercifully shorter, was equally intense, action packed, and  fun to watch cuz our daughter was on stage.  And whatever I missed the first time, I saw the second time I watched it.

Sam Waterston was a great Lear and Georgie was an exceptional hun.  It was a great weekend of theatre.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

Leave a Reply

