Like a Monday morning

Its actually Tuesday.  Yesterday was a holiday for the kids.  Columbus Day.  When will we become more politically correct and abandon “Columbus Day” for “Explorers Day” or something else that dosent celebrate a specific asshole but the idea of opening up the world (by a bunch of unidentified assholes)?

I am sitting here this morning, outside, finally some nice weather, trying to come up with some menus for this week before I go to the market.  Usually a task I enjoy but I am having problems ignoring all the boxes and piles that remain after the big container dump last week (2 40′ shipping containers arrived last week).  After two days of unloading boxes and furniture, I unpacked everything from its box (save a dozen or so) for two days with the movers help, thank good.  About 50% of what made the trans-ecuatorial journey back to the states, I was happy to see.  About 45% of it I was like “what was I thinking?” and the other 5% was like the below.  “What were the packers thinking?”More difficult to ignore, however, is Osa and her OCD tendencies. Here she is trying to get me to throw a stone mushroom (part of a past tenant’s stone animal vignette).  She is nuts.   The dogs arrived the week before last.  They are doing great and its feels right to have them back in the mix.  We dont have them trained on the invisible fence yet so they are house bound unless chaperoned.  Fortunately, they are not wonderers and have only run away when trailing deer into the woods, not the street which is my biggest fear.  They are not street or car smart.

Had a nice weekend.  The kids spent a fair amount of time in the pool because the Indian Summer weather we are experiencing.  We went apple picking in 82 degree heat.  We went to the car wash.  We watched Toddlers and Tiaras. I put stuff away, sometimes I just moved it around.  It was a big time.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

1 Response

  1. Beth Cushman

    In Argentina we call Columbus day “cultural Diversity Day”. Don’t you miss all of the progressiveness about this place???? Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

