Re-entry in bullet points

image credit: http://www.esa.int/

I havent been very good about writing lately.  Things have been really busy; mostly in a good way but sometimes in a bad way.  I hope that I will build up some endurance for the bad stuff and that the pace of life here wont seem so crazy at some point, some point soon, I hope.

The good:

  • Friends, friends friends
  • I forgot how pretty it is here, the trees are just starting to change and there is no dog shit to negotiate when going for a walk down the road
  • Meal planning and supermarkets.  I love going to the market and finding everything I might need to make a recipe I find in one of the thousands of cooking magazines you can buy.  I also love my kitchen and my convection oven, this is the shit that makes me so happy!
  • A real pedicure that uses water.  Weird, I know, but its so true!
  • HGTV and other domestic related semi amusing television
  • Internet speed
  • Self Service Gas
  • It is familiar, I know my way around and where to find stuff, this does mitigate the culture shock

The Bad:

  • DRIVING IN CIRCLES ALL DAY LONG
  • our public school’s obsession with standardized testing
  • medical professionals lack of bedside manner
  • too much of everything (ie 500 channels on our standard cable package)
  • Paying a 15 year old $12/hour to babysit
  • children’s soccer or baseball games on Sunday
  • Missing Friends
  • Folding Laundry badly
  • THE DRIVING IS MAKING ME INSANE
The important thing is that as crazy as it has been, everyone seems to be doing just fine.   The kids have all made friends and academically the transition has been seamless.  I do miss my house, friends, Jenny and the rhythm of the day in Buenos Aires that somehow seemed so much more sane and natural than being here.  But I am sure with time that will change, although not sure I want it to.
About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

Leave a Reply

