Irene is not my friend

We are now Irene +5 and no power. Happy to report no damage.  The kids were suppose to start school Tuesday, but because of a million good reasons;   non travelable roads for the buses, no power at one of the schools, flooding at another and the fact yet another was being used as a shelter with 14 families sleeping there, school was closed today and will be closed for awhile.

Its been OK, It could have been a lot worse. While there has been a lot of damage from the big old trees blowing into houses, everyone in our town somehow stayed safe.  We have had some fun meals with friends around candlelight, the kids have had to entertain themselves with outdoor summer games at night (manhunt) and using candles and flashlights make everything cozier.  But I am ready for some electricity. First, I am bummed by the fact that I will have to throw out half of all the food I had bought last week in order to build a larder of stuff to eat. But I am mostly bummed by the lack of water.   I was not cut out for the pioneer life, I like my showers hot (and plumbed in), would prefer to not to have to flush my toilet with buckets of water, but most of all I want my cup of Nespresso coffee in the morning.  Lets hope we get some juice today.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

1 Response

  1. Iliana

    I am so sorry!!!! I have tried calling and then it occured to me you have not been able to charge your phone. When you can, let me know how the O’connell clam is doing. Besos

Leave a Reply

