High School Politics

This Foreign Minister Timerman who just happen to be the neighbor and was available to perform the inspection. Coincidence?

I am not talking about what my oldest is dealing with at the high school.  I am alluding to the politics of Argentina.  Politics here has always been a little crazy and not easy to explain.  Elections are transparent in their corruption.  Despite the politics in the States being crazy-assed, I dont think I could have imagined the kind of cynicism and apathy in combination found here in Argentine voters.  They have opinions, about what should be done, who should do it, and how everyone else is dirty.  But they seem to continue to vote for the same political machine (Peronistas) time and time again.  So while patronage and elections are grown up stuff, what happened in the past week or so is an example of raging teenage hormones.  Here are the bullet points presented in the voices of my 8 year old daughter and 10 year old son.

Owen:  Justin Beiber (Obama) cant come to visit you.  He is going to see your arch enemy Maribel (Chile) and your big sister Juiliana (Brazil)

Georgie:  I hate you I hate you, I am so offended.  I am going to get you.

(2 weeks later)

Georgie:  You cant bring those candies (military training program for Argentine police)  into my house, you said you were bringing some but you didnt sat anything about the Reese’s.  What were you planning to do with all the candies, poison us with them.  You are like a terrorist!

Owen:  What are you talking about??? you have know about the candies for a long time, you agreed to the candy and I have brought Reese’s to you before and there never was a problem!

Georgie:  I am going to keep all of the stuff that you brought over.  I might destroy it, I might eat it.  Justin Bieber (Obama) owes me an apology.  Then everything will be alright.

Owen:  What?

Georgie:  Say you are sorry and I might give you your stuff back.

Owen:  Not going to happen.  Just give the candy back.  This wont happen again, cuz no more candy for you.

Georgie:  I am never giving it back…You better say your sorry or else…..

This is no exaggeration.  Obama isn’t coming here to Argentina but is visiting Chile and Brazil.  Looks bad for Christina, Obama is not coming a calling. So the government is pissed.  Impounded the entire contents of a USAF plane that was down here for a training programing for the Federal Police.  Apparently,  the manifest wasn’t complete and items that in the past have not be included (mainly emergency kits) were not on the list, and now (after the Obama snub) the Foreign Minister Timerman (a twittertard) shows up to double check the inventory list.  The President and Timerman infer that maybe there were terrorist intentions. They are justified in taking it to protect the Republic of Argentina.  They will never give it back, unless, perhaps, someone important like Obama or Hillary give Christina a call and say they are really sorry.

Not going to happen.

 

 

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

1 Response

  1. Bird110

    Thanks for the humorous look at this news. My husband is in the Gendarme in BsAs and I am in the US-the “sequestration” of a US Airforce plane that sat at Ezeiza for weeks was barely a blip on the radar here, and the stuff they were quibbling over was laughable (serial numbers on individual equipment parts as opposed to the blanket number, and an SF medic’s morphine, which is heavily controlled and always a part of medic kit). BTW, I am also in the US Army, and had a similar situation with equipment going into a foreign country. We watched this whole mess unfold, and the only folks who really got the short end of the stick were the federal police who were waiting to receive some high speed hostage training, and the US taxpayer. You called it perfectly. All the best!

Leave a Reply

