My Child, The Nazi

This weekend, after several months of rehearsals, Cal performed in the classic musical theater, Sound of Music.  This production was a middle school version.  Last night the whole family went to support Cal as he played various parts in the chorus.  Good Job Cal!

While I applauded enthusiastically as Maria and Captain Von Trapp took their curtain calls, they were no Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer in the romance department. (the braces didn’t help)  I love middle school versions of musicals because even if its a Disney classic, the 12 and 13 years old can never pull off the romance.  It makes me giggle when the leads struggle with flirty banter or embrace in an awkward hug. (there was no kissing, thankfully) And last night was no different.  But even weirder in this production was seeing my son and his other 12 year old friends dressed up as Nazis, with swastikas and guns.  It just wasn’t right.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

2 Responses

  1. Graeme Weir

    in some of the plays me and my sister do over the summer in the group I’m gonna be in there has to be kissing scenes between the two main charecters on the cheek

Leave a Reply

