Motherly Inspiration

Jean Frances McDonald Weir

Although my mom passed away 14 years ago she is still omnipresent in my life.  I see her in my siblings and I see her in my children.  I hope to see her in me.  Especially as a mom.  Its a high bar, believe me.   I don’t think is all gauzy nostalgia.  Its hard to find anything bad to say about my mom. She was Scottish cheap despite my dad wanting to buy her the world and she was a merciless Scrabble and card game competitor. That’s the worst I can say about her.  And if you find this sort of thing objectionable, she was really short.

My mom was sweet.  Sweet but smart.  Patient but determined.  Funny but not sarcastic.  Cuddly, warm and as a bonus a great cook.  An while I might have always known that my dad loved my mom best, I always knew that she had enough for all of us (we were a family of six kids!).  So when I lose it with my kids and I yell or walk away because I don’t want to deal, I often think, God, Mom never did that, she never yelled or ignored us because we were unreasonable.  She was there.  Maybe quietly talking us off the ledge or saying nothing.  No judgment  or encouragement about this behavior.  She just reassured by her presence and made us believe we could be good.  She made us feel loved.

Something to aspire to.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

3 Responses

  1. Ginny Hostetter

    You’re Mom is stunning in this picture and you look so much like her. I did not know she shared my Mother’s name Frances. I remember vividly meeting your mother during a rainy, wet, electricity-challenged Cinco de Mayo party at your house in Wilton. Like many of the old kind you talently threw. She was standing under the doorway and your Father never left her side. I came alone and she entertained me big time.

    Forgive me not writing. I would love to see you in CT in June and have marked the dates you are here on my calendar. Thank you also for the book suggestion. It is on my list along with “The Imperfectionists.” Love, Gin

  2. Graeme Weir

    I’m kinda sad that i never got to meet her she seemed like such a nice person and i really wanted to meet her

  3. Ross

    Lovely picture of Mom and nice remembrance too. I don’t recall seeing this photo. Looks like late 40s on northern California coast.

Leave a Reply

