I am so proud

I know in some circles it’s considered politically incorrect to patronize Starbucks. Give me a pass for my uncoolness and chock it up to being a expat who gets to enjoy her lowfat decaf Carmel Machiatto only in airports and when shopping Stateside with Tonje. Well as you can see below, Starbucks opened a location in my corner of Buenos Aires suburbia today and I came first in something. They didn’t comp me my coffee, but I did get a goody bag with a pretty mug and a coupon for my next coffee.

And while the baked goods do cater to Argentine tastes, my Carmel Machiatto tasted just like the first one I fell in love with in San Francisco almost twenty years ago. That’s the magic of Starbucks for me.

My childrens were duly impressed by my achievement today.  Georgie asked if I was going to keep the certificate with my Birth Certificate.  The prospect of a Frappuccino comes in a close second to an embassy family gifting us a box of Mac and Cheese every blue moon.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

5 Responses

  1. As an expat myslef, I know how little things from back home stir up a huge pot of nostalgia. This promotion was fantastic, and I love how well you positioned everything for this one shot.

    Didn’t know I would ever say this about Starbucks paraphernalia, but lovely!

  2. barbara k.

    You have made me–and, surely, other formerly Starbucks-deprived expats– proud, my friend! The question is whether Tonje would’ve had you beat if she were still there. I know I would be a close second. Looking forward to frequenting Starbucks in BA again someday:-)

Leave a Reply

