Summer Reading

Since the weather has pretty much sucked since our arrival, there has been a lot of reading by the kids.  I enjoy talking with the librarian at the kid’s school about books for each of the kids to bring here.  She is extremely knowledgeable about children’s literature and she knows my kids and what they like to read.  So between what is in the library and her own personal collection I take 4-5 carefully chosen books for each kid to read during our six week summer break.  At first they resist, but inevitably they get into the book and read more than the hour a day required by me, their taskmaster.  Let’s hope the weather gets better, they are going to run out of reading material.  I, on the other hand, will never have that problem ever again.

The thing I love most about my summer vacation is that I get to read.  I read tons.  I take a suitcase full of books.  I have a book shelf dedicated for the summer reads and they start on the left side, spend a short stint on my night table and then finally rest on the right side of the book shelf.  So here is the book shelf today.

And possibly it won’t change much in the next four weeks because I am now a Kindle owner thanks to Santa.  I feel mixed about my Kindle.  It’s slick and comfortable to hold and it’s certainly easy to use and more importantly, to read.  But it is not the same tactile experience.  The thing I find the most unsettling is that I can’t gage how much I have read..its not measured in pages but “locations”  So while its tells me the percent I have read, its hard to judge what scale I am dealing with.  It’s just odd not having that information that holding a book in your hand affords you.  On the upside however, is access to current literature, when I want it and it doesn’t take up any space or weight in my luggage.  And on the negative, yet again another thing that needs charging, power cables and voltage adapters.  Jury’s out.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

1 Response

Leave a Reply

