A Study in Contrast

Yesterday was Mother’s Day in Argentina.  Several years ago I wrote about the Argentine version in this post.  It was also GM’s birthday so while it was Mother’s Day,  I couldn’t expect GM to cook his own birthday dinner and make his own birthday cake.  Although I spent quite a bit of yesterday in the kitchen, I was not forgotten.  Georgie brought GM and I some really bad coffee in the morning, GM cut me flowers from the garden, GM’s mom brought me some goodies from Vermont and I was surprised with a beautiful new lens for my SLR.  Yeah!

I also received my favorite hand made cards for Mother’s Day.  These days George and Owen are the only senders.  Cal and Henry are entirely too cool and self involved to take the time to acknowledge their mom on Mother’s Day.  Or Henry’s case, he just really cant stand me.  So enjoy these sweet tokens of their love while they last, it wont be forever.

First up is Georgie’s Photo/Poem Gift

She made the frame with cardboard and flowers from clay and sprayed the whole thing gold
She made the frame with cardboard and flowers from clay and sprayed the whole thing gold
Found on the back is a sweet declaration of her love for me in Castellano
Found on the back is a sweet declaration of her love for me in Castellano

Owen in the other hand….

Once you in folded it from its accordian pleats, you find a funny little man wishing me a Happy Mother's Day
Once you unfolded it from its accordion pleats, you find a funny little man wishing me a Happy Mother's Day
Scatch that, the funny little man is apparently me!
Scatch that, the funny little man is apparently me!

I think the odds of anymore Mother’s Day cards from Owen are pretty small:(

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

1 Response

Leave a Reply

