My search for THE lemon bar recipe is over…

class photos 231 copyI love me some lemon or any citrus based desserts best.  Key Lime Pie is my absolute favorite and its my go to recipe when I want to impress at an asado.  That recipe is for another time, today is the lemon bar recipe which will now be my go to lemon bar recipe.  I have paired Ina Garten’s lemon filling with a simplified and generic shortbread recipe that I made with a few modifications, see below.

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour (this makes it nutty and interesting)
  • 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar, plus more for dusting
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 sticks butter, at room temperature but cool

I pulsed the above in a food processor and slowly added the butter until crumbly.  I patted into a 9×13 pan and baked at 350 for 20 minutes or until the edges started to brown. Pour Ina’s filling onto the warm crust and return to the oven for 20-25 minutes.  Cool completely, dust with powder sugar and cut.

I found some of  the crust recipes so overwrought.  Do not over think the crust.  You shouldn’t have to roll it out and the refrigerating the crust before baking is optional.  I forgot about lining the baking dish with baking paper and it turned out lovely, it’s a bit crumbly but melts in your mouth and is nutty and sweet.  The filling on the other hand, you could just hand me a spoon and I could eat an entire bowl full of this lip smacking tart filling all by itself, YUMMY.

There is no kid’s review on this baked good.  These bars are entirely too good to share with spawn.  Since they freeze beautifully, I have my very own stash.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

