Feliz Dia Papa

fathers-day-barbecue-book-cover

Unfortunately, my dad is gone, but not forgotten.

I have great memories of a really good, solid, loving, eccentric, funny, demanding and adventursome father.  If he hadn’t settled down, fell in love with my Mom and had 6 kids..he would have been a freight train hopper or furniture maker or gold-miner or oil painter or writer, all things that he dabbled in before kids.  But, no he became a successful businessman affording his family security, great vacations and an early retirement so he could enjoy his wife, kids and grand kids.  He had a great life but it was a little too short for me.  Some day when I get a scanner I will post a picture of him.  He was a nice looking man, with a twinkle in his eye.

You know how they say a woman marries her dad, for me its true.  My husband is a very similar kind of dad. There is a lot of hands on playing and sports, lots of silliness and appreciation of twisted humor, high expectations regarding behavior and school work and also a desire to expose the kids to unique experiences.  Sometimes it bothers me that the kids don’t get how good they have it with their dad, and have a dad that is around, a lot. (unlike my dad, who traveled tons) But most of the time, it just makes me happy that my kids have such a great dad.

To all the dads and men who have special children in their lives…Happy Day!

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

Leave a Reply

