You take the good with the bad

goodbyeI am exhausted.  I haven’t slept well in the last week.  Its has been a week full of late dinners, afternoons full of children’s parties and on Sunday it all culminated in one last asado.  It  was a last supper of sorts, I know that may be hyperbole and offensive to some, but it was more sad and final than celebratory.  Why so glum?  A dear friend has left Argentina.  I am tired and sad because finally after lots of parties and dinners, I said my final goodbye.

Will I see her and her family(my family now) again?  Yes, I will.  Probably in September and in November for sure.  This of course makes her leaving tolerable.  But it is not the same.  This is a person who I saw everyday.  This is a person who I shared my children with, we visited our respective homes outside of Argentina, we exercised together, we drank (a lot) of coffee together, we dieted together, we shopped, traveled and cooked together.  She has a husband that my husband more than tolerates, they are friends, good friends.  Our children are like family, they fight, they play and sometimes they just are..in the same room, doing nothing.  You get the picture.  My life here will never be the same.

But this is the life GM and chose.  I remind myself that if it wasnt for the nature of the expat life, I would never have met her and I am grateful that we have the means to be present in each others life going foward.  Its all good except the part were I take it for granted that after a punishing workout together with Juan, we can sit at a bistro table on the sidewalk, have a badly executed (all around) cafe con leche (for me) and a cortado (for her), talk about nothing and have a good laugh over it.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

Leave a Reply

