The Sun has set on Twilight

E_Twilight_book

It is not something I am proud of, but I am happy to say I have finish the last installment of the Twilight Quartet, Breaking Dawn.

It should be clear, if you have read any of my other posts, I am not a fifteen year old girl.  I am a 47 year old woman with 4 kids, not the demographic these books are targeted for.  But I am voracious reader living in Argentina where there are no Barnes and Nobles to pop into and pick up the latest best seller or classic.  An afternoon of fondling books and snacking on Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are the things I miss most about living in the States.

But I am connected to a English reading (not all native speakers, show-offs!) community and we have a book group.  Not the typical book group where we all read a piece of literature during the month and meet to discuss the book with someone burdened as the facilitator of this discussion.  We just simply share books.  Some of the books are beach reads, some are thoughtful and provocative contemporary literature, some are biographical and a little of it is total garbage.  However, we all agree that when confronted with either another Paulo Coehlo translated from Portuguese into Spanish (a smidge of foie gras) or less than great literature in English, we go for the bowl of spaghetti. Well, this teen vampire romance series is a really big bowl.  Clocking in at 2379 pages, there has to be something compelling in these mediocre books.

As stated above, its not the writing.  An editor that edits and a Thesaurus would have been a start.  The narrative has its moments and there are characters that inevitably after 2379 pages grown on you.  Well, make a long story short, these books were making the rounds amongst other middle aged women in my circle and I did read all of Twilight series. While they are not high literature,  I understand the appeal to a teenage girl.  Everyone is beautiful and there are the predictable yet effective romantic triangles.  I found, that while there wasn’t any premarital sex, there was a lot of erotic kissing that may be confusing to a 12 or 13 year old girl, or maybe not.

These best sellers were quickly bought and made into movies.  The first came out and yes, I admit it, I saw it.  Was better than the book and the main guy, Edward was hot.  The next movie will be out sometime this year and the other two to follow.  I will probably see them.  I think movies are the best format for these stories.  So if you are reading this, don’t read the books.

There are blogs dedicated to the books and movies, written mostly by teenage girls.  I take solace in knowing that I am not the only middle aged woman who has read these books.  I take additional solace and am simultaneously disturbed to find out that some of these older woman also have dedicated blogs to the Twilight books and movies.  I found a women who features a widget counting down to the movie premiere of the second book, Eclipse, in her banner.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

3 Responses

  1. And I’ll admit it too, this middle-aged man is in the beginning chapters of book three. I am no slouch in the literature department and my reading tends to the high brow. I feel like I need to defend my intellect when I admit that I’m reading these things. Anyhow, I’m still trying to figure out what it is that has me hooked about them, Lord knows it’s not the writing or character development. Sometimes, a little pulp is good for the system.

    While I’m admitting to my guilty pleasures, I’ve also read all of the Harry Potter books. Now, The Potter books ARE literature, despite the demographic they’re aiming for. What’s your exposure to Harry Potter Elizabeth?

  2. I’m consistently floored by how grounded in the western tradition the HP books are. Rowling knows her mythology and archetypes, that’s for sure. As I read that series, I was struck with a real admiration for how her mind works. I am glad too to see her expose a generation of kids to Latin. She could have taken the easy road and just made up nonsense words for her spells, but she didn’t. Brilliant! She trusts her readers to follow along contextually and look things up if they have to. Umberto Eco for kids!

Leave a Reply

