My Garden

0131

I love my flowers in Junin.  The climate in Junin is Steppe.  It means the step between desert and alpine.  So while it is extremely dry in the summer (good for us!)  the transitional seasons are rainy and it gets cold in the winter.  So roses and hearty perennials do well.  There are a lot of trees by the river and we have lots of natural grasses by the lake but the rest of the property is pretty scrubby, think High Chaparral.  One thing that is particularly happy here is lavender, which makes me very happy! (and relaxed)

Here are photos of the roses that are in beds on either side of the front door.  There are about thirty mature plants.  Originally they were all Flame (orange-pink rambler) but we lost several during one especially wet winter.  So in additional to the spectacular coral colored roses we have some white Paloma Blanca.  These flowers come 2 times when we are here in Patagonia.  They are prolific and we have more flowers than vases.  The house is full of these flowers. 

0161

015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the view out of my bathroom.  This border is full of more roses, daylilys, rose of sharon, and other perennials.

043

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

An finally, here is view out our bedroom window.  This is the laguna.  Those pampas grasses are huge..6-7 feet tall and beautiful.  I don’t normally like dry flowers in my house, but these grasses are great cut.  We even spray them silver and gold for Christmas.

048

There are other plants and we have some pretty flower containers on the gallery but the beauty of the garden in Junin is that its not high maintenance or so big in scale that I have to spend all my valuable reading time weeding and watering.  Its just perfect.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

1 Response

  1. I’m planning to work in my yard today. I’m wanting roses. And after seeing your post, I think I will get them. The climate there seems to mimic here a little bit. Thanks for the inspiration, -s

Leave a Reply

