Words of Wisdom

mcgovern.jpg
This was my first Presidential ticket. Actually it was probably McGovern/Shriver by the time I volunteered for the first of my many losing presidential campaigns. I can remember helping my sister Patty “canvas” the neighborhood. That had nothing to do with emails or telephones, it was walking around, knocking on doors and handing out flyers and answering any question the voter might have about George McGovern’s policy positions. Well, I wasn’t answering the questions, I was only ten years old. I do remember eating peanut butter/chocolate balls at an elderly woman’s house. After spending 20 minutes at her house being fed and shown photographs of grandchildren, she tells us that she will not be voting for McGovern, but for Richard Nixon who “will keep the communists out of America” and that “that Tricia Nixon is sure a pretty girl”. It was a lesson learned, not to judge people by their political sensibilities, those were good peanut butter/chocolate balls.

George McGovern wrote in the Washington Post today that impeaching Bush was imperative, he’s worse than Nixon.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

Leave a Reply

