Pondering a President

barackobama.jpg

It looks as if my fantasy of Al Gore running for president has died a slow, lonely death. He has officially missed key ballot deadlines, so I have now officially (along with the DraftGore movement) given up on the dream of President Gore.

Who am I going to vote for? I am going to vote for Barack Obama in the primaries in February. We concur on those issues that are the most important to me. But what really appeals to me is his ability to communicate with inspiration about his vision of the future of this country. He is a leader. I want follow him to a better world where we are leading other nations through understanding and respect and helping through partnership and charity. I also think we need to pay attention to our collective mental health. We need a president that will straighten us out, give us some clarity and lead us out of this shitstorm. That is not very concrete I know, but like I said, its not all about tackling of list of to dos, we need first to feel like we can fix all these problems. We need a change.

Do I think he will get elected? I really don’t know. A few weeks ago I wasn’t feeling so positive. There was so much being reported in the MSM that Hillary was inevitable that I was beginning to not feel so confident. But, just in the last few weeks the tide has turned and both Obama and Edwards have begun to eat away at Hillary’s lead in Iowa and New Hampshire. The race is very tight, but the momentum seems to be moving towards Obama.

Will I vote for Hillary? If I find myself next November having to choose between Hillary and one of the clowns running for the Republican party, of course I will vote for her. I find her more right on the positions than me, a personality that is strong but shrill and rigid and she is a Clinton. I can live with her political positions and no doubt she will surround herself with smart people. My biggest problem with her is that she is a Clinton. I don’t think what this country needs now is another well funded, entrenched political machine. Political dynasty is not a good thing, Bush anyone?

Who will be on the democratic ticket in November? I am hopeful that I will be voting for Obama and Edwards or perhaps Edwards and Obama. Edwards has been laying low and I wouldn’t be surprise if he makes a strong showing, with Obama and Clinton splitting a big chunk of the vote. I could live with Edwards (better than Hillary). He is a gentleman, smart and certainly capable of changing the tone in which we do business in Washington, and how we are perceived in the world.

I hope that when I wake up on November 5, 2008, we have a president-elect that is either a woman, or a black man, or has a non-Mormon great head of hair. Below is my Helllloooooo moment with Obama. This is from the Democratic Convention in 2004. The whole speech is pretty amazing if you are not familiar it. Below is the greatest hits. Its at the 3:30 mark where he communicates a fundamental change in the way of looking at our country.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

1 Response

  1. To change the world into a better place to live, the world needs a genunine leader who will be a true component to such changes.

    We believe Obama can best help us in “building a bridge to the 21st century”-Bill Clinton and heal up all the wounds that provoked world terrorism.

    As Gerald Ford once quoted in 1976, “He is making us proud again” Dont get suprised to find this daily paraphrased by millions of Americans, Europeans, Africans and Asians once Obama becomes the next American President as the man is determined to “make us proud again”.

    Hope the world will be more proud to him as we used to be proud with great historical popular leaders like Mahtma Gandhi, Kwame Nkrumah, Mwalimu Nyerere, John F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King.

    –Edwin MAshayo

Leave a Reply

