I have to go to work tomorrow..at least it is not at a bowling alley

images.jpg

Its been a long time since I have had a paying job. When I worked, I was reasonably capable at my job and I had pride in what I accomplished and found great pleasure in what having a living wage afforded me. Its been 12 years more or less since I have been involved in a commercial enterprise and tomorrow a friend and I are opening a store in Buenos Aires.

I feel like I have NO FUCKING idea what I am doing. In fact, I am fairly certain that I do not know what I am doing at all. Not a clue. No relevant reference point, no reason to think I will succeed. I have never done anything in the retail world except consume. So as we get closer to our opening (Tomorrow!?!?) I am finding myself in a incredibly uncomfortable yet weirdly exciting place in my life. And I guess that is what living is all about.

A totally unrelated aside with awkward segue: Do you know what totally uncomfortable experience is of little benefit to my life: SnackBowl birthday parties. Because I have been somewhat of an absent parent during the run up to the store opening, I experienced a weak moment (guilt induced) and I volunteered to take my son Owen and his buddy Oscar to a birthday party of a girl they vaguely knew and barely liked. It was at a bowling alley in the suburbs. And while bowling alleys here not as “barfly” evocative as in the States and the food and coffee is decent, a bowling alley is a bowling alley and even in Argentina you have the pervasive stinky shoe smell and the pins-being-knocked-down noise that never ceases. You can only imagine that when my son remarked that he wanted his birthday at the bowling alley my ears started to bleed all over again.

If you are in the Recoleta tomorrow and need a new handbag, drop on by to Rodriguez Pena 1299.

About Elizabeth

Wife and mother of four. This blog is personal, political and hopefully relevant with a sense of humor. I got to have a sense of humor with the tough crowd I deal with everyday, and they cant even vote, drink or drive.

2 Responses

  1. Lee

    we’ll share lots of fun with no fucking idea.
    Today I was “helping” my seamstress assemble Roman shades-perhaps the most critical time knowing how to tie a bowline has come into play.
    xoxo
    yours in making it up

Leave a Reply

